Join the Congregation!|Wednesday, April 14, 2021
You are here: Home » 2010 Off Season » 2011 Padres: The Bullpen

2011 Padres: The Bullpen 

padres2011edit2The 2010 Padres bullpen finished the season as the top ranked group in baseball with a 2.78 ERA. They were a huge contributor to the success of last season. Forced to use their strength to acquire talent for the upcoming season, the front office traded several members of that bullpen to secure the talent needed. No longer with the bullpen are Edward Mujica, Adam Russell, Ryan Webb and possibly future bullpen members Brandon Gomes and Radhames Liz.

Acquired over the offseason to bolster the 2011 bullpen were free agent signees George Kontos, Chad Qualls and starter/reliever Dustin Moseley. Returning to the bullpen will be Mike Adams, Ernesto Frieri, Luke Gregerson, Joe Thatcher and Heath Bell. Assuming that we know who 4 of the 5 starters will be (Latos, Richard, Stauffer, Harang) that leaves the 5th spot to be filled by Cory Luebke or Dustin Moseley or Wade LeBlanc. If Moseley wins the 5th spot then LeBlanc and Luebke will start the season in AAA Tucson. Moseley will become a member of the bullpen if he does not win a starting job. That will leave Qualls and Kontos fighting for the last bullpen spot with Qualls having the upper hand with many years of major league experience and success. Unless, of course, something surprising or unexpected happens in spring training, which is often the case.